Changing Pace

You know that whimsical feeling that comes at Christmas? With your family at dinner on Christmas Eve or maybe after the kids are in bed and it’s quiet or how the laughter fights the cold air away from the front door as more and more guests come? It’s wonderful, isn’t it?

On the tail of Christmas, though, is New Year’s. And my, how I hate New Year’s. I’ve spent it in the DR with Steve, I’ve spent it at a house party with close friends, I’ve spent it at home asleep, I’ve spent it playing board games. And I’ve never enjoyed myself. To me, New Year’s Eve is the saddest day of the year. It represents how fast everything is going, it points out what I haven’t done and begs for a promise to myself to be better.

We’re having people over this New Year’s, four or five other couples, most will spend the night and some are bringing their kids. These couples are Steve’s friends and their wives/girlfriends. I told him years ago that they were his friends and would always be so. But as time goes by, we’ve merged as a group, with new additions (girlfriends, children) and now, well, these people are my friends.

This past year has been one of the best years of my life. It’s hard to believe what a decade has brought, and that now we’re moving into a new one. I’m proud of myself for what I’ve accomplished this past year, I’m proud of how I’ve handled most situations, of the strength I’ve discovered within myself.I’m proud of how I mother my children, how I’ve re-committed to university and my marriage. I’ve done things this year I would have never thought I was capable of doing. I’ve made goals, achieved those goals and more.

This year, looking at New Year’s, I don’t feel so sad. I am blessed beyond measure. I believe in myself. My family and I, we’re moving forward, together. And what could be better than that?

What about you, what have you learned this year?

2 Comments on “Changing Pace

  1. I actually really like New Year’s. It seems like it’s one of the only holidays where whimsy and rowdiness and drunkiness is encouraged. Works for me. 😉

  2. I don’t mind New Year’s. We never really do anything big, just usually with some friends. No plans so far this year! As for what I learned…. I learned that I always can’t get what I want right away and to be thankful for what I already do have. xoxo

Leave a Reply

