Meatless Monday

I’m going to attempt “Meatless Mondays” starting today.

“So, what’s for supper tomorrow?” Steve gloomily asked me last night.

It’s a recipe I found, ricotta cheese and spinach wrapped in whole wheat lasagna noodles. Except instead of spinach I’m going to use asparagus and green peppers because cooked spinach is just green slime. With a side of salad and cheesy garlic bread. I’m excited to try something new.

I come to class early, especially for a Monday. If I leave the house 20 minutes too early, the drive is 30 minutes shorter. So I throw yogurt and a banana in the daycare bags and the girls eat breakfast at a little table with little chairs and I end up in the empty computer lab 40 minutes before class starts. Silently checking email and writing posts. I love it.

My mom had a hysterectomy last week, she got home from the hospital last night. We drew pictures and put stickers on them and I took a picture of the girls to frame for her and bought her some natural iron supplements. I’m going down Thursday.

The first sign of the blahs set in yesterday afternoon, so I worked out in the basement for a while. After supper I tidied and packed the bags and Steve’s lunch. This morning I made the beds and put the dirty laundry in the hamper before we left. Small things, but coming home to a clean house makes a big difference when I’m feeling down.

Except I won’t feel down. I told myself last night, “This will not own me. I am stronger than these feelings.”

One Comment on “Meatless Monday

Leave a Reply

