Music

I was in my best friend’s basement and we were watching Much Music. Walking on Broken Glass came on and I stared, dumbfounded. The dresses, the song, her haunting voice. My mom called me home, halfway through the song and I tore across her backyard into my front door and flicked on the tv, desperate to watch the rest of the video, but it was already over.

My Dad often listened to music as he cleaned up Sunday’s lunch. Before church, he would put on Christian music, but what he liked best he called his “Sunday afternoon music.” Often it was The Eagles, The Doobie Brothers, The Righteous Brothers and Dire Straights. Years and years after that night, long after I had forgotten that moment, my dad turned on the radio and a Eurythmics song came on.

What is this? WHO is this? I asked.

The memory flooded back to me. And I could smell that basement again, see that dress again, feel my friend beside me again. I downloaded the album and listened to it over and over again, mesmerized by her voice.

I absolutely love listening to music I haven’t listened to in years. It steals me from the moment I’m in and puts me square back into a place I used to be, good or bad.

That’s what this song did to me today.

I haven’t even thought of David Gray for years, but as always, his voice makes me heart feel like exploding.

Leave a Reply

