The Path

I meant to write about the new car we’re getting on Friday.

Then I meant to write about the extremely disturbing news we heard about one of Steve’s co-workers.

Then there was the stomach bug that went around our house for the second time this winter (minus me, although I’m still superstitiously touching wood).

But then my friend’s dad died unexpectedly, and this is the fourth friend in less than a year to lose her father. So I called my dad to say hello.

And I rocked Alena a little longer before bed.

And I laid with Leila and rubbed her belly they way she likes.

Because, oh. Life spirals and swirls and is beautiful right up until the moment you fall, very hard, and land sobbing and broken.

If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path.
–Joseph Campbell

Leave a Reply

