Ten Days

Leila’s been sick for about ten days now.

At first it was the projectile vomiting kind of sick. When my kids are vomiting, I’m all business. I clean the toilets and do the laundry and cuddle and don’t even gag that much when they barf directly on my person.

Then she seemed to be ok.

And then she threw up in the produce section at the grocery store (a week to the day that Alena did the exact same thing). And since then she’s been weak and pale and wimpery lethargic on the couch. I felt horrible sending her to daycare yesterday, but since I had missed almost all of my classes last week, I did. I picked the girls up early, though, bringing them home to read books and let Leila laze on the couch and watch cartoons.

Today has been more of the same, and while I’m really trying to be a good mom, I’m getting impatient. She’s been up at least three times per night for a week, and not the type of awake that I blearily stumble to her room and tuck her back in without really waking up myself. But the tummy-ache awakes, that require at least 15 minutes of belly rubs and cuddles.

I’m trying not to complain, after all my child is sick, but man, I’m tired. I haven’t gotten a grip on laundry since this stomach bug first came into our house ten days ago, and despite how clean the house was last Thursday when I actually had a moment to de-germ, it feels like all I have to do is blink and everything’s dirty and messy again.

The girls are sleeping now, and I’m trying to get some laundry done and clean the bathroom. My list of one million things never shortens, no matter how much I do.

One Comment on “Ten Days

Leave a Reply

