2010: Recap

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Complete a triathlon

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I had three resolutions last year: to complete a triathlon, to wear a bikini confidently, and to hands on help people. I did the triathlon and worked a bikini and coached two run clinics. So yes, I did.

As for this year, I always make resolutions. There are some physical ones this year (I’m going to run the Ottawa Marathon in May), but the big one is to believe in my own strength. To not let myself forget my own gifts and strength. To ignore my insecurities for long enough that they go away, to believe that I truly am beautiful and wonderful, valuable and irreplaceable. And to start my book. Oh yeah, and to wear clothes that make me feel sexy.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes, my cousin’s wife.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Thankfully, no.

5. What countries did you visit?
The States.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
Faith that even when things are difficult, they will work out. A deeper level of trust in myself.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
You know… I don’t think there are any.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
There was a lot of things I was proud of, like running a PB in a half-marathon in June, the triathlon in July, passing a couple computer and Calculus classes last winter, getting all A’s this term… but nothing that stands out as one monumental success.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Pushing distance between Steve and I because of my own insecurities. Almost breaking his trust a couple of times. Making promises to him that I kept breaking. Consciously doing things that I knew were self-destructive.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Just regular stomach bugs and colds.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A Nike+ running watch and my iphone

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Steve’s, for being attentive and more patient than I could have been in his situation. For loving me and doting on me, even when I failed to give him what he needed from our relationship.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
My own, the past few months. For being selfish and small and for letting my insecurities turn me into someone who isn’t so nice.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Daycare, tuition, mortgage (same as last year).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Our trip to Florida in September.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Can’t think of one

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
up until a week or so ago, I would have definitely said sadder, but I’m making steps to be happy again.
b) thinner or fatter? a little thinner I think? But stronger
c) richer or poorer? about the same

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
enjoy silence

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Fret

20. How did you spend Christmas?
At home with the four of us. Then to my parents’ for dinner, then to my in-laws for Boxing Day through to the 28th

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
Does falling in love again count? If so, then yes

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Lost, we watched all six seasons.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No.

24. What was the best book you read?
Sarah’s Key, maybe, or The Secret Scripture

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Ron Hawkins

26. What did you want and get?
Steve gave me snowshoes for Christmas, which I’ve wanted for years. But honestly? I have everything a girl could ever want.

27. What did you want and not get?
An easy fix

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
We watch so few movies, I honestly don’t know

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 29. I can’t actually remember, but I imagine Steve cooked chicken drumsticks and corn on the cob and we had some white wine, as per tradition

30. What’s the one things that made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
A re-invigorated sex life

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Comfy casual? Whatever isn’t dirty? At times, whatever fits? Not exactly haute fashion ’round here

32. What kept you sane?
Did I stay sane? Historically, it’s been running, but this year I’d have to say my heart-to-hearts with Steve.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Bah, who cares. Well, maybe Robert Downy Jr. or the newly single Zac Effron.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
DADT repeal in the States, Canadian politics were fairly quiet this year.

35. Who did you miss?
The old me while I was MIA, but now that I’m myself again…

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Maybe Steve’s good friend’s girlfriend?

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
You are the only person who can control the way you feel and the way you look at yourself.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
This is a quote, but far more applicable than any lyric I’ve heard:
“Somewhere along the line, you stopped being you. You let people stick a finger in your face and tell you you’re no good. And when things got hard, you started looking for something to blame – like a big shadow. Let me tell you something you already know: the world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me or nobody is going to hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much you can take and keep moving forward.”

I’d love for you to do this yourselves and leave the link in the comments section!

3 Comments on “2010: Recap

  1. Pingback: 2011: Recap « Sweaty Sneakers

Leave a Reply

