Ch-ch-changes

I had a free session with a personal trainer yesterday and first of all, although I had figured I was pretty strong and fit, my legs were shaking within 15 minutes. Also, today I hate the stairs.

First of all, about 18 months ago, I had a personal trainer make me up a program when I was training for my first marathon. I got weighed and my BMI measured then, and I had my BMI measured yesterday for the first time since then. I’m a full 10lbs lighter and my BMI is now 23% (as opposed to the 26% it was back then). This slow and steady progress that I’ve been making with my body feels, at times, that nothing is changing (because 10lbs in 18 months isn’t exactly immediately noticeable), but ultimately, I see that I am getting to where I want to be.

Secondly, wow. Talk about humbling. I run 40+km a week, and some wide-legged squats were enough to make me tremble (literally). Going in I felt like I was in pretty good shape, but he made me feel that I wasn’t (which I think was his way of marketing himself, which ultimately isn’t what is going to sell me – hello, I want recognition for all the hard work I do!). Anyway, long story short, the session made me realize that I could benefit from some fitness help in order to reach my goal. So I emailed my old friend who trained my rugby team and now trains lots of endurance athletes and runners. The thing with marathoning is that lots of people don’t get it. They don’t understand what the long runs are like and they don’t understand what it takes out of you. If I’m going to pay for a personal trainer, they don’t have to be a marathoner, but they do have to understand some fundamentals about it and I didn’t feel that the trainer yesterday did.

And on a completely unrelated note, yesterday I did something completely impulsive and out of character. I was headed to daycare to get the kids early, and I pulled the car over, parked beside the curb and walked into a tattoo parlour. And came out with this:

4 Comments on “Ch-ch-changes

  1. Beautiful tat!

    And you should be proud that you are taking the steps necessary to get where you want to be. I’m sure that your muscle volume has also gone up as your weight has gone down!

Leave a Reply

