Relaxing after Vacation

Two weeks ago, I was in the throws of final exams.

One week ago, I was in the middle of the Magic Kingdom.

Today, I am tucked under a wool blanket in front of a fire.

Life spins quickly and efficiently sometimes. My mind tinkles with laughter and memories and doll’s voices singing incessantly It’s a small, small world. I close my eyes at night and dream of Disney and school and everything all mixed up into one.

My plans for the summer are undecided. Leila will be heading to school in September and I am very tempted to pull the kids out of daycare for the next few months, to enjoy this time with them. I’ve come to rely on those days to allow me to get my errands done, my runs in, a coffee alone. But the local gym has childcare, which would cover my exercise basis, and my kids don’t really mind being dragged along for errands.

I don’t know what we’ll do for childcare next fall, the school bus will take Leila home by one. I don’t really want her to go to an after school program and I don’t want the girls to be at separate childcare locations. (The center they go to now doesn’t provide after-school programs.) I’d like to find a babysitter that will come here two or three days a week, but don’t really know where to start looking.

It’s strange to be finished school for the summer, until September. There are a lot of things around the house that I need to do (unpacking!) but nothing seems pressing.

It’s quite nice, actually.

One Comment on “Relaxing after Vacation

  1. Sounds like your vacay was better than mine! I bet the girls had a blast. I wanted to check out your pics on fb but my photos little tab on the RHS has disappeared! WTH?!

Leave a Reply

