Ratatouille -Anti-Cancer in a Bowl!

For my birthday my mom gave me a copy of one of her favourite cook books that has long been out of print. She received it from her mom in 1979 and it’s probably inspired by Julia Child because it’s French cooking for the average (read: not French) cook.

Anyway, I have enjoyed many recipes from this book and I actually think it’s one of he resources my mom has repeatedly used to make amazing food (seriously, my mom is a spectacular cook). Needless to say, I was so happy to finally have a copy of this cookbook.

I enjoy cooking. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t create worth a damn, but if you put a recipe in front of me, I’ll most likely be able to pull it off.

My best friend was here for the weekend and Monday night was her last night here, so I wanted to make something extra delicious for her. I made a Ratatouille. And seriously? So good.

My knowledge of Ratatouille was limited to – you got it – the movie. I knew it was some sort of stew, but turns out, it’s meatless! Who knew?

This was extremely easy to make. You’ll need:
One large (one pound-ish) eggplant* (I know! But if you have an aversion to eggplant, read this)
Two medium zucchini
one large can of tomatoes (I bought the chopped ones even though it said use the full ones and then chop them with a spoon) (Yeah, I don’t know either)
one onion
one clove of garlic (I used three)
olive oil

You can make this in a pot or in the oven. I chose the oven method, because it seemed easier.
Chop up everything. Put it in a casserole dish. Mix it up. Cook on 400C for one or two hours (until everything is soft). The end.

Fiber helps prevent cancerand zucchini are super high in fiber. Tomatoes are very high in lycopene (it’s what makes them red) which is a free radical fighting antioxidant. (Specifically, from the same site, “Free radicals are damaging molecules that float around in the body disrupting cells and promoting disease. Antioxidants, such as lycopene, destroy free radicals so they can’t attach to your cells and wreak havoc on your hard-working immune system.”) Eggplants are also high in antioxidants (specifically the skin, so don’t peel them) – one called nasunin that “protected brain cells from free radicals in a test tube”.

So basically, this easy to make Ratatouille is easy to make, yummy to eat, and fights cancer. Win, win, win, I say!

I’d post a picture but it gets kind of mushy/I’m no food photographer/it’s already been eaten.

* About the eggplant. The thought of certain foods makes me gag in my mouth. I’m not a pickey eater, I’m just not… sophisticated. Anyway, eggplant is one of these foods (as is squash), but chopped into cubes and blended with all the other flavours, it was really tasty. And not spongy.

Leave a Reply

