Spacey

I turned thirty and Leila turned five and then she graduated preschool and it’s been raining non-stop and the house is messy and my moods hop around wildly and I’ve scored two writing gigs due in July and another research project with a prof. My head is spinning and I said I’d do a bunch of posts here and haven’t.

(I just re-read that paragraph and holy crap, I’m 30.)

Tomorrow I’m taking an aerial yoga class and going on my first real bike ride. I backed out of a race this weekend because I just cannot focus on running, I officially have running burn out.

Ever since the marathon, I’ve been flighty and forgetful and I swear it’s from being too focused for too long, now I’ve lost it all. I decided not to buy any more personal training sessions for the summer because I just want to relax. Yes, stay fit and active, but that trainer wants to focus on athletes with goals and I just want to bike and swim for a few weeks and then do a triathlon, I don’t care if I do it faster or slower than last year or about doing exercises that open up my hips and balance my core. Don’t get me wrong, there is infinite value in those things, I just need a break from seriousness, you know?

Anyway, I’ll get back here soon, promise.

One Comment on “Spacey

  1. I think there’s something to be said for taking a break, for exercising because you enjoy it as opposed to with a goal in mind. Good for you! I find that I rediscover things that I love to do that I don’t always make time for when I’m training for something (such as Pilates which is completely counterintuitive since we all need more stretching/strength even when training for an event!).

Leave a Reply

