Eat Clean and Warrior II

I usually head to Starbucks in the afternoons that the girls are in daycare to work on whatever writing gigs or research projects I have on the go. It’s nearly impossible to work from home on my computer when there is so much distraction (particularly right now as my house is in it’s third week of cluttered for no apparent reason other than I can’t seem to find the time to give it the gutting it needs). I buy a tall latte and sit at the table and tap away. Aside from the expensive coffee, I usually make it out of there without wandering into the attached bookstore.

I have this weakness for books that will “change the way I see food.” Seriously, just check my nightstand. I have Jillian Michael’s assertive finger pointing and Michael Pollen and a handful of books about the Paleo Athlete. Most recently acquired is The Eat Clean Diet, Stripped. It’s aimed at losing your last ten pounds.

First of all, I feel like I should defend myself here, because I read these books out of an honest and healthy interest about food and health and how our bodies react and digest and function. It fascinates me, the way we’ve made something that could be so very, very simple, into something that seems so very, very complicated. In my own experience, good food makes for a good body (when good = functions well). But we’re addicted to salt and addicted to sugar and addicted to preservatives and like most difficult things, there are a million other things we’d rather do than eat clean. And that’s the individual’s choice. I also kind of begrudge the assumption that the people reading these books want to look good in a bikini.

Although everyone wants to feel confident, I eat to fuel my body and make it work better. I want to be lean, yes, but that’s because I want to function as an athlete (can I use that word for myself?). I’ve reached this wonderful and exciting point in my life of the realization of potential. Physically, I can’t reach my full potential fueled with fast food. And that’s the main reason I give food so much thought. Sure, it’s nice that I like how I look in pictures and feel confident, but I also know that has a lot more to do with what’s going on in my head than with what size my dress is.

Anyhoo! Basically this “diet” (in the most pure sense of the word – that is, the food you are eating) has the potential to overhaul your life. Since I’m a fairly healthy eater, the main thing that would be taken out of my diet is bread (that’s my main source of “sugar”) (oh, and I guess afternoon cookies). I figure I’ll give it a try. I went through the outlined menu last night and wrote myself up a grocery list. Not much different than is in my weekly list, except more fish and less red meat (something I was planning on doing anyway) and some weird additions like kale and wheat grass that apparently will concoct a weird “green smoothie” (I’ll keep you posted on that one).

*****

So my aerial yoga class was kind of cool. I wasn’t nearly so graceful as the people in that video, but it was fun and new and insanely hard on the forearms (all that gripping). And at one point I was in Warrior II completely in the air with my feet and hands pushing against the silk hammock. Sure, it may not have been pretty, but it kind of made me feel like a super hero.

I may do it again this Friday, or I may buy a one month pass to another Halifax yoga studio since there’s a pretty good promotion for new comers. I’ve swam a couple times and have been enjoying my bike. Run clinic is tonight and I am starting to feel less scattered in my head. I think my marathon fatigue is officially over. That said, knowing myself, I have about four weeks that I can cruise without a goal before I start to get bored.

Also, I’ll be continuing to work with iRun and am writing two articles for the September issue. I’m excited that I’m getting the chance to do some resume worthy writing this summer.

What about you? What are your summer plans and goals? I’d love to hear all about them.

One Comment on “Eat Clean and Warrior II

  1. Oh! Green smoothies. You will LOVE. I promise. πŸ™‚ The key? Add a frozen banana to your greens and you are in for a treat. My kids drink green smoothies and love them – we do kale sometimes but more typically use baby spinach. Also good? Those Bolthouse Farms bottled juices and smoothies; the Green Goodness one is amazing and my kids and I go through 1-2 big bottles a week.

    Also (also.) I’m a food reader too. πŸ™‚ I’ve got the following in my bedside book basket: Tosca Reno, Michael Pollan, Brendan Brazier (Thrive diet), The China Study, Gillian McKeith, John Robbins, and more. I’m currently reading “Born to Run” and loving it! Have you read it? Fascinating stuff.

    Last “also.” I think you are destined to run the most kick-ass Girls on the Run chapter. EVER. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

