Zucchini Muffins

I was totally creeping someone on Facebook one night last week and saw that her sister had shared a recipe for zucchini muffins on her page. Since last summer, when my mom’s friend fed me the most amazing chocolate zucchini cake with cream cheese icing, I have been searching for some zucchini recipes.

Muffins totally get a bad rap, as far as I’m concerned. Sure, if you buy a triple chocolate-apple muffins with cinnamon sugar on top, then yes, it’s cake. But I have a well-loved muffin recipe book (one that fed my brothers and I through our childhood and was given to me by my mom once I had little mouths of my own to feed). Anyway, muffins are a staple snack food in our house. When you’re the one making the food, you know if it’s cake or muffin. Sure, sometimes I make chocolate chip muffins (and yes, they get devoured about ten times faster than the whole wheat blueberry ones), but usually they’re healthy.

Anyway, my parents and older brother came for brunch yesterday and I made a huge batch of French Toast, fresh fruit and zucchini muffins. The whole batch was devoured (and both of the girls loved them).

Here’s the recipe, but in case you’re not inclined to clicky-clicky:

Pre-heat oven to 350F
Mix in a large bowl:
1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 Tsp Cinnamon
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
2 Tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Tsp Salt;
Mix together in a smaller bowl:
2 Eggs, whisked
1 Tsp Vanilla
1/3 Cup Vegetable or Canola Oil
2/3 Cup Agave Nectar
Grate 1 and a half cups of zucchini (that was one large one for me) and add it to the liquid mixture
Pour the liquids into the dry ingredients, mix gently until everything is moist/stirred up
Spoon into muffin tins; bake for 20 minutes.

This made 12 big muffins. Since my kids are so little and eat like birds, I’ll probably spread it out into 18 or even 24 muffins next time. Starting in ten days, I’ll be packing a lunch for Leila five days a week, and muffins will probably make it into her lunch box pretty regularly (not to mention mine and Steve’s).

Lastly, I’d post a picture of them, but by the time brunch was over, there was nothing but an empty plate left.

One Comment on “Zucchini Muffins

  1. Thanks for this! I used to make a chocolate zucchini cake from a recipe I found in Cooking Light, but I’d forgotten about it. This looks like a nice change from my usual rotation of vegan pumpkin muffins and whole wheat banana-berry ones. Time to branch out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

