What We’re Eating

So I mentioned that I hosted a Pampered Chef party a couple of weeks ago, didn’t I?

(My old friend from university was the consultant and there will be much linking going on in the post to her own page. Feel free t purchase from it! And sadly this post isn’t sponsored, I paid for all these goodies myself. Well, kind of. I got awesome discounts as the hostess but that’s not the point.)

I’ve been feeling out of touch with my home the past month or so. I just don’t have as much time to putter and clean and bake as I used to and I am missing it. Also missing the time that I spent doing that with my kids. Anyway, since I have a bunch of new and pretty things for my kitchen and since everyone is mostly healthy and since school is almost over bt exam studying requires brain food, I made a goal to bake a proper home cooked meal every day this week.

Tonight: Pizza!

As far as I’m concerned, pizza gets a bad rap. First of all (assuming you aren’t anti-dairy), cheese is not bad for you. The end.

I do put pepperoni on our pizza, but if you’re not down with processed meats, skip the phallic meat.

I use a Kraft pizza kit which come with a dough mix. I know a lot of people make a pizza dough in their bread maker, but even though I have a bread maker, we’re not really friends. Plus, with this mix, dinner is made and served within about 40 minutes.

So! I mixed the dough mix and some water into my (new!) Classic Batter Bowl. It comes with a lid, so I slapped the lid on once the dough was all smooshed into a ball to let it rise a bit. (Photo is obvs pre-lid application.)

While the dough was rising, I chopped all my veggies. I’m a big fan of heavily loaded pizzas, so I pile the vegetables on. Plus, I feel that this makes all the difference between “boarder line unhealthy meal” and “Wow! What a lot of healthy veggies you have eaten for dinner!”

I tossed the veggies (one entire yellow pepper and one entire green pepper) and the pepperoni into my (new!) prep bowls (they are 3 cups and also come with lids). The sliced plum tomatoes (Aside: What is the difference between grape and plum tomatoes?) are in my (new!) easy read measuring cup (this is 1 cup – there is also a 2 cup and a 4 cup, cup) (I actually hosted the party with measuring cups in mind, so these are the whole reason for this entry).

Then, I plopped my mushy dough onto my (old) baking stone (it’s about 7 years old and as good as the day I bought it, I swear). Also, here’s a hint: lots of people buy round pizza stones but pizza’s don’t actually have to be round. Buy a rectangular stone and you’ll get way more use out of it.

Next step requires help from a tomato stealing three year old. Sauce (from the can in the pizza kit), pepperoni, sweet peppers, cheese, tomatoes.

Bake at 425F for 18 minutes (the box says 10-13 minutes, but things always take longer on the stone. Which is worth an extra five minutes to be honest because the bottom of the pizza is golden brown not almost burnt). If you like crunchy crust, I’d say keep it in for 20-21 minutes.

Enjoy!

(I have more goodies to share and talk about, so be prepared for more Pampered Chef/food posts sometime soon.)

(Some of those goodies will have to be reviewed after Santa comes as he’ll be putting them in Steve’s stocking.)

Leave a Reply

